Current Season
Current squad
Home Grounds
Club Records
Past Saints
Club Crest
Club Strips
Division 'C'
Season by Season
Day by day
Saints in Print
St Mirren Juniors
Around the Grounds
Related Links
Club Info
Championship Winners 2017-18

At the start of October 2016 Saints found themselves bottom of Scottish Footballs second tier without a win in their first eight games of the season.
Former player Jack Ross had just been appointed as the clubs fifth manager in just over two years.

Jack inherited a squad of youngsters and players coming to the end of their careers. A squad low on morale and on a downward spiral.

It took Jack and his assistant, James Fowler, until the end of the January transfer window to get a team that they believed could stop the decline and take the club forward. Their most inspiring signing was the return of former player Stephen McGinn who was immediately given the captaincy.

An amazing turnaround in the final three months of the season saw Saints finish 7th in the league, having at one points been 12 points adrift at the bottom.

For season 2017/18, Jack managed to persuade most of the squad to stay with the club and with several new addition the team started the season with a 3-1 win over one of the title favourites Falkirk. Their first opening day victory in 11 years. 
Victories over other title favourites Dundee United and Inverness set the tone for the season and on the 14th April a 0-0 draw with second placed Livingston at Greenhill Road secured the title.

Saints finished the season 12 points clear of second placed Livingston. They won 23 of the 36 matches including 14 of their 18 home matches. The best ever season at Greenhill Road.

At the annual PFA awards ceremony Lewis Morgan was named Championship player of the year.
He was joined in the team of the year by fellow Saints Gavin Reilly, Cammy Smith, Liam Smith and Stephen McGinn.
More recognition of the teams achievement over the previous year came when manager Jack Ross was named Scotland's manager of the year.

When the SPFL awards were announced, Lewis was named Championship player of the year and Jack was Championship manager of the year.

Championship medal Presented to Adam Eckersley
Picture used with kind permission of Adam

Lewis Morgan
PFA Scotland - Championship player of the year
Jack Ross
PFA Scotland - Manager of the year