Current Season
Current squad
Home Grounds
Club Records
Past Saints
Club Crest
Club Strips
Division 'C'
Season by Season
Day by day
Saints in Print
St Mirren Juniors
Around the Grounds
Related Links
Club Info
Reserve League Cup
Saints first won the Reserve League Cup in 1977-78.
They repeated the victory in season 2005-06, but this victory is overshadowed a bit by the first team who won the double of Scottish First Division and League Challenge Cup in the same year.


1st Round
2nd Round
Ayr United (A) 1-2
Ayr United (H) 6-1

3rd Round

Queens Park (H) 2-0

Queens Park (A) 3-1



Semi Final

Dundee (H) 2-2

Dundee (A) 4-1


12/05/78 Rangers (H) 1-0

 16/05/78 Rangers (A) 1-1  


2nd Round

St Mirren 7 Stenhousemuir 4

      Saints scorers:- Mehmet 4, Maxwell, Gemmill, McKenna
Having received a bye in the first round Saints met Stenhousemuir in round two and the teams served up an 11 goal thriller!
Saints took the lead through Billy Mehmet early in the game but found themselves 3-1 down at the interval courtesy of two penalties and a goal just on half time.In the second half goals from Ian Maxwell and Scott Gemmill brought the game level before David McKenna put Saints ahead.Stenhousemuir levelled again before the end taking the match into extra time.There was no scoring in the first period of extra time, but the second period saw three goals from Billy Mehmet take Saints through 7-4.
Danny McColgan, Iain Milne, Ryan McCay, Mark Reilly, David Barron, Ian Maxwell, John Baird, Craig Molloy, Billy Mehmet, Brian McGinty, Mark Corcoran.

Semi Final


St.Mirren 2 Hamilton Academical 1

Saints scorers:- Weir, Baird


The semi final paired Saints with Hamilton Accies and as in the previous game Saints found themselves behind at the interval courtesy of a Rudi Torres goal.

Early in the second half Robbie Weir managed to get his head to a rebound and level the match. As the match appeared to be heading for extra time, a Saints free kick was played short to John Baird and he unleashed an unstoppable shot into the back of the net from 30 yards out!

There was no time for Accies to recover and Saints were through to the final.


Chris Smith, David Martin, Ryan McCay, Andy Millen, Marc McAusland, Iain Milne, John Baird, Craig Molloy, Brian McGinty, Robbie Weir, Mark Docherty.


Subs: Craig Carr, Steven Anderson, Scott McFarlane, Gary Gillespie, Craig McMahon



St.Mirren 2 St.Johnstone 1

Saints scorers:- Reilly, Docherty


The final of the reserve league cup was a repeat of the final in 2004 when the Perth saints ran out 3-1 winners.

This time however saints were determined to add more silverware to a successful season and gain revenge for 2004.

Like in the two previous rounds Saints were behind at the break after a Stephen Dobbie penalty gave the Perth Saints a 1-0 lead just before half time.

They maintained this lead until midway through the second half when Saints Mark Reilly picked up a loose ball outside the box. With the St.Johnstone defence backing off he smashed home from around 25 yards for the equaliser.

In the final few minutes with extra time looking certain Mark Docherty took a pass at the corner of the box and coolly slotted home to win the cup for Saints and avenge the defeat of two years before.


St Mirren: Chris Smith, Chris McMenamin, Ryan McCay, Mark Reilly, Ian Maxwell, David Barron, John Baird, Craig Molloy, Brian McGinty, Robbie Weir, Mark Docherty.

Subs: Daniel McColgan, Marc McAusland, Steven Anderson, Craig Marr, Scott McFarlane.