Current Season
Current squad
Home Grounds
Club Records
Past Saints
Club Crest
Club Strips
Division 'C'
Season by Season
Day by day
Saints in Print
St Mirren Juniors
Around the Grounds
Related Links
Club Info
Drybrough Cup

The Drybrough Cup was first competed in season 1970-71. It was the first ever tournament in Scotland to bear a sponsors name.
It was open to the eight top scoring teams in the Scottish League, four from the first division and four from the second.
The format was a straight knockout competition with a first round, a semi final and the final.

St.Mirren competed for the first time in 1972-73, by virtue of the 84 goals scored in the previous seasons Second Division campaign. In this first venture into the competition, they faced Aberdeen at Pittodrie, but lost their scoring touch as they went down 1-0.

The following season saw them qualify again with 79 Second Division goals. Once again the scoring touch was not there and a solitary Brian Third goal was not enough to prevent a 2-1 defeat by Hibernian.

Saints failed to qualify in 1974-75 as they had just completed the worst season of their history.

The competition went into cold storage for a few years before resuming in 1979-80.

Saints again qualified in 1980-81 on the back of 56 Premier League goals. This was by far the best season in the competition. 
A first round defeat of Falkirk, with goals by Alan Logan and Doug Somner ensuring a 2-1 victory, saw a semi final meeting with Ayr United. Alan Logan again found the net and a Billy Stark counter once again gained a 2-1 win. The final at Hampden Park on the 2nd August 1980, saw Saints line up against Aberdeen. The Dons proved too strong and ran out 2-1 winners, Somner netting Saints goal.
This was the final year that the competition was ever played.

Alan Logan
Billy Stark
Doug Somner