Current Season
Current squad
Home Grounds
Club Records
Past Saints
Club Crest
Club Strips
Division 'C'
Season by Season
Day by day
Saints in Print
St Mirren Juniors
Around the Grounds
Related Links
Club Info
Anglo-Scottish Cup Winners Challenge

This is one of the least known of Saints successes


In 1959 shortly after Saints had won the Scottish Cup, it was suggested that the winners of the Scottish Cup should play a challenge against the winners of the English FA. Cup and so Saints travelled to Nottingham in September of that year to play a first leg match against Nottingham Forest.

Goals from Tommy Bryceland, Davie Laird and Don Kerrigan gave Saints a fine 3-2 victory and set them up well for the return at Love Street the following week.

Davie Laird again got on the score sheet along with Gerry Baker in a 2-2 draw which gave Saints a 5-4 aggregate win.



City Ground

Nottingham Forest 2 St.Mirren 3



Forsyth, Wilson, Riddell,

Neilson, McGugan, Gregal,

Kerrigan, Bryceland, Baker,

Laird, Miller.

Scorers:- Bryceland Laird Kerrigan



Love Street

St.Mirren 2 Nottingham Forest 2



Forsyth, Wilson, Riddell,

Leishman, McGugan, Gregal,

Rodger, Bryceland, Baker, Laird, Miller

Scorers:- Laird, Baker






After their victory in the 1987 Scottish Cup it was suggested that a competition between Saints and FA Cup winners Coventry City should be set up.

The first leg of this tie took place at Highfield Road, Coventry, on the 22nd December 1987.

Kenny McDowall netted Saints counter in a 1-1 draw.



Highfield Road

Coventry City 1 St.Mirren 1



Money, Dawson, D.Hamilton, McWhirter, Godfrey(Wilson), Davies,

B.Hamilton, Ferguson, Conroy (McGarvey), Chalmers (McDowall), Cameron (Shaw).



The match was deemed an Anglo Scottish Challenge but played in a very 'Friendly' type manner hence the number of subs, double what was allowed at this point in history!

For the return leg, the teams could not agree on a suitable date for this match and it was never played.


But I’m sure that Saints fans can claim two victories in such competition with 1987 being ‘won’ on away goals!!